Answers To Commonly Asked Questions About Workers’ Compensation In Florida
At Scott Marshall Injury Attorneys, we regularly represent injured workers who are concerned about coverage for their medical bills, compensation for their wages and other issues following a workplace accident. If you’ve just been injured, you may be feeling the same way.
The good news is that talking to an attorney can give you much-needed peace of mind. Below, we’ve provided answers to some of the most common questions we receive. After reading, feel free to ask us your own questions during an initial consultation.
What should I do after being injured in a workplace accident?
The first thing to do is seek medical attention, especially if the injury requires emergency care. Once you have been treated and are stable, it’s a good idea to report your injuries to your employer (and the accident that led to them, if your employer doesn’t already know that information). You technically have 30 days to report your injuries, but you don’t need to wait unless the full extent of your injuries is not yet known. Once your employer reports the accident to the insurance company, you can begin filing a workers’ compensation claim.
How much does workers’ compensation pay if I have to take time off from work?
Typically, you will be paid two-thirds of your average weekly wage while out on leave. Florida law doesn’t mandate compensation for the first seven days that you are out, so those days might not be paid. If your leave lasts longer than 21 days, however, the insurance will likely need to compensate you for those first seven days that were initially unpaid.
Can I claim workers’ compensation for an injury that occurred over time?
Yes, you can. Many workplace accidents are single events leading to immediate injury, but you may also experience an injury caused by cumulative and repetitive stress on certain parts of your body, like your wrists and back. These are known as repetitive stress injuries and are compensable. Because your injuries were not acute, however, it may be harder to prove that they were work-related. That’s when an attorney who knows the law can help.
Do I need to hire a workers’ compensation attorney?
Legally, you do not need to hire an attorney. Unfortunately, many workers’ compensation insurers often deny legitimate claims in order to increase their own profits. Having an attorney on your side can give you a much better chance at fighting back against these tactics. An attorney can also help you with all necessary levels of appeal (for claims that are denied).
Ask Us Your Own Questions In A Free Initial Consultation
Scott Marshall Injury Attorneys, serves injured workers in Clearwater, Florida, and surrounding communities. To take advantage of a free initial consultation with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney, call our office at 727-605-5916 or send us an email.
Se habla español.